Errata & Living FAQ

Errata

Inevitably some errors remain in the published work however hard we try. Sorry!

Page 21: Change Formation (5.2.2) Add at end: “When changing formation a unit must expand or contract symmetrically around its centre point or as closely to this as possible in its circumstances”.

Page 42: Combined Formations: Third paragraph: Replace “All bases containing archers in a Combined Formation throw 1D6 when shooting-the usual second row bonus does not apply” with “All bases containing archers in a Combined Formation throw 1D6 per two bases (rounded up) when shooting”.

Page 52: Sassanid Army list: All commanders ride horses. Army Composition should say “Infantry: Up to 50%. Cavalry: at least 50%”. Light cavalry entry: Should refer to “Horse Archers” as a single entry.

Page 58: Later Saxon Kingdoms Army list: Special Troops entry: Skirmishers cost 4 points each.

 

Living FAQ

New games naturally generate a number of queries and so we intend to build a series of FAQ responses available on this site. The first of these are shown below.

Q. What kind of bases does Swordpoint use? How many Figures are on them?

A. Infantry bases are 40mm x 40mm and carry either 3 or 4 figures. Infantry skirmishers are 2 to a 80mm x 40mm base. Cavalry are 2 to a 50mm x 50mm base, and the same number of cavalry skirmishers fit on a 100mm x 50mm base. If your figures are on 20mm x 20mm bases already, or 25mm x 50mm for cavalry, you can easily group them on movement trays or appropriate size skirmish bases with no need to rebase.

If your figures are on different size bases, then so long as they are all the same size you will still be able to play, though cavalry may become slightly more or less effective against infantry than the rules intend-this should not be too much of a problem though.

Q. Will the rules recommend smaller bases for 15/18mm and smaller figures, or will the base sizes remain the same as for 28mm, but with more figures per base?

A. Swordpoint has been designed for 28mm figures and as such, does not contain any recommendations for playing with 15mm/18mm figures. We have developed a version for 10mm/6mm figures which we may release later, and this seeks to maximise the benefits of those smaller figures. That said, I think filling the bases with figures and halving all distances would give a nice looking and satisfying game with 15/18mm figures.

Q. Will movement be simultaneous, IGO-UGO, or some variation in between?

A. In each Swordpoint turn both players shoot simultaneously, then both move with the initiative-holding player going first, then both fight simultaneously.

Q. Will there be rules covering Roman legionary line exchange?

A. There is a rule which seeks to replicate the effect of this without dealing with the minutiae. 

Q. Will there be rules covering horsemen supported by light infantry, such as Greek hammipoi or Early German 'hundreds'? 

A. There are rules which can be utilised in this way, available to armies where the usage was common enough to justify it.

Q. What is the reccomended surface playing size?

A.The table size recommended for an average game is 6’ x 4’.

Q. Bases fighting to their flank or rear throw half as many dice as they normally would do. Do I assume that such troops also only throw half as many dice in combat to their front?

A. Bases fighting to their front have normal dice even if other bases in the same unit are engaged to flank or rear.

Q. If two units face one enemy and follow-up having forced it to fall-back, does each unit earn two tokens, or do they earn two tokens between them?

A. The tokens are awarded per action, so if two units force one back there are two tokens on offer.

Q. In the Late Roman list, the Magister and the Warlord both cost 0 and have the same Cohesion. However, the Magister only has +2 Attacks while the Warlord has +3 Attacks. Is this correct?

A. Yes, this is the case. Army generals are “free” unless they are C10 or have the Strategy rule, regardless of their profile.

Q. In the “who can shoot” section, it says that formed units get dice and skirmishers get dice. In the earlier section it says that formed units that drop below 3 bases are no longer formed. Hence foot, horse, chariots, that are down to one or two bases are no longer formed and thus can no longer shoot. Was that the intention?

A. Yes, this is correct. Unformed troops are a liability and should be withdrawn from action as fast as possible!

Q. Elephants get 2d6 in combat, while the crew get 1d6. Is that 1d6 per crewman or 1d6 in total for all of the crew. If the latter, then buying a third crewman for my Carthaginian elephant does not give an extra combat die, but just an extra "crew wound"? Is that correct?

A. Correct. The elephant crew always throws 1D6 as long as any crew are alive. So, adding a crewman aids longevity but doesn’t affect the number of dice rolled.

Q. At page 18 under 'which face to charge', from the example it seems that the front facing is frontal 180 degrees of the charged base, (not the frontal line of sight 90 degrees ahead), is that correct? 

A. The front zone of the unit extends 180 degrees across the front of the unit.

Why are the grey areas representing the flank areas greater than the charged base depth?

A. The grey area should not be deeper than the unit, this is a mistake by our illustrator. 

Q. “One unit of Principes for every two units of Triarii", surely it should be the other way round? There were twice as many Principes as there were Triarii in a Roman Legion. So, “one unit of Triarii for every two units of Principes.”

A. The Roman limitation should be read “at least one unit of Principes for every two units of Triarii”. It is intentional, and seeks to avoid an overly prescriptive list

Q. Does the limit of 3 tokens apply to each individual combat, or does it apply to the entire combat phase?

A. The 3 token limit is per individual combat

Q. How are combined units based? For example, if I have a unit of 8 late roman legionaries in a combined formation with half archers, do all the bases have two legionaries at the front and two archers behind them? Also, if I have the same unit and have paid for Heavy Armour upgrade (+2) to make each stand 24pts, do I minus the points for having archers combined, reducing the cost of each base?

A. If a combine unit has 50% archers, it must deploy as one of the following:

(A) A single row of bases, each containing both sorts of figures, or,

(B) A row of legionary bases with a row of archer bases behind, or,

(C) Two rows of legionaries with two rows of archers behind.

A mixed base costs as per the more expensive troop type, including any upgrades.

Q. Example on page 19: Cavalry is charging at an angle. What if the distance, in this example, is not 16, but is 8? Can the cavalry target the centre base of unit B so that all 3 front bases can fight? Or does a unit always have to charge the nearest point?

A. A unit does not have to charge the nearest point of the enemy unit, it can charge any point of the unit that it's centre front can reach, (because all measurement are made from the unit's centre front).

Q. Battle example on page 28: A-D scores 12 kills, E-H 17 kills, so the difference is 5. Then it says A-D gets +1 for its flanking position. E-H has committed 3 Momentum tokens. Would the outcome of the battle be 7 in total, and not 8?

A. Page 28 – Yes, this is correct. There is a mistake and the result should be a loss by seven, not eight.

Q. Page 17 example; Can unit E charge unit A alone (lining up with that unit and only overlapping it on it`s flank to the west)?

In other words:

(A) Can a unit charge an enemy’s base of its choice, (if it`s in distance), or,

(B) Does it always have to charge the nearest base?

If A and B are correct, the example on page 17 would make sense for unit E, but not for unit F, as it wouldn’t be able to charge unit D only.

A. Regarding the page 17 diagram, it would be possible for unit E to charge A alone, (which is what F is doing to D), if A was not so close to B. As it is, units A-C, count as a continuous line, (see 1.1 on page 16), so A, being wider than A, cannot charge only .

Q. Do you have a question about Swordpoint that you would like the Development Team or The Play Testers to answer?

A. If so, please email it to Team Swordpoint

SWORDPOINT Rulebook

Manufacturer: Gripping Beast

More Information

£20.00